IFIB – Interfaculty Institute of Biochemistry

SCHEMATIC DESIGN TO DETAIL DESIGN, FACADE

Tübingen / Germany 2015 – 2020
Client / Architect: Vermögen und Bau Baden-
Württemberg Amt Tübingen, Tübingen /
Germany, Wenzel+Wenzel, Stuttgart / Germany
Structural design: Schweitzer Ingenieure,
Saarbrücken / Germany
Fotos: Martin Prösler, Tübingen / Germany


New building Interfaculty Institute for Biochemistry IFIB

The IFIB complements the Center for Molecular Biology of Plants (ZMBP), which was completed in 2013. TEUFFEL ENGINEERING CONSULTANTS already developed a prefabricated reinforced concrete façade for the three to five-story building together with the architects and the executing company.

With the IFIB, a modern extension with contemporary furnishings has now been created. With an area of around 5,300 square meters, it offers students and teachers space for their scientific work. Great importance was attached to energy efficiency. The ventilation system is equipped with heat recovery. The remaining heat demand is covered by the district heating plant, which is predominantly powered by wood chips. Recooling plants on the roof contribute to the energy-efficient generation of the required cooling with evaporative cooling.

TEUFFEL ENGINEERING CONSULTANTS supported this energy-efficient planning by again designing the precast reinforced concrete facade. Here, part of the original facade of the ZMBP was deconstructed and the prefabricated parts were recycled for the IFIB in the sense of a circular economy.

see also New building Interfaculty Institute for Biochemistry handed over

Aldgate Statue

Aldgate-Statue

Architects: Normal


The Aldgate statue is the entry of the team “Normal” to a competition released for the design of a new landmark for the city of London. The intention was to create a memorable object at both day and night.

For the realisaton of the concept natural thatch was selected as the most appropriate material to express the concept. The internal core consists of a central steel pole which is anchored in concrete foundation and prefabricated steel ties which are joint in a symmetrical way to the pole in order to ensure equilibrium of the structure and give the desired appearance to the statue.

Samsung GALAXY Studio, Sochi

OlympiaSamsung_02

The structure measured 40 m x 27 m x 9.50 m and consisted on three sides of a steel frame with four edges and two supporting columns in the middle. Diagonal bracing provided the necessary stability against snow and wind load as well as possible earthquakes. Continue reading

Volkswagen Group Russia Pavilion, Sochi

OlympiaVW_01

SCHEMATIC DESIGN TO DETAIL DESIGN

Sochi / Russia 2013 – 2014
Client: Volkswagen Group Russia, Moscow / Russia
Architect: Avantgarde, Munich / Germany
Strauss Architekten, Stuttgart / Germany
General contractor: Nüssli, Hüttwilen / Switzerland
Photo: Volkswagen Group Russia, Moscow / Russia
Nüssli, Hüttwilen / Switzerland


The special feature of this five storey pavilion belonging to the VW Group was the 540 m² large LED screen on the front. With the help of dancers the daily changing medal count was choreographed. The dancers moved on intermediary gangways made of glass. Continue reading

Prora, Block 1, Island of Rugen, Germany

ProraBlock1_01

APPROVAL PLANNING TO CONSTRUCTIONAL SUPERVISION

Island of Rugen / Germany 2013 – 2016
Client: Wohnen in Prora, Vermögensverwaltungs
GmbH & Co. KG, Berlin / Germany
Architect: Stuke Architekten GmbH, Berlin /
Germany
Photo: Wohnen in Prora Vermögensverwaltungs
GmbH & Co. KG, Berlin / Germany


The structural intervention in a listed building can be regarded as a special challenge at all times. “Block 1“ of Prora, belonging to the former Third Reich Holiday Resort, is no exception to this rule. It has been converted into modern style apartments and a hotel. Continue reading

Drake Street, Berlin, Germany

DrakestrasseBerlin_02

CONCEPTUAL DESIGN TO APPROVAL PLANNING

Berlin / Germany 2014 – 2015
Client: BOTAG-Fonds 20 Drakestr. 76 / 77 GbR,
Berlin / Germany
Architect: Stuke Architekten GmbH,
Berlin / Germany
Photo: Stuke Architekten GmbH, Berlin / Germany


The flat roof of the six storey housing block in the Berlin suburb Lichterfelde had to be thermally insulated. As the building retrofit progressed it was decided
to put a penthouse consisting of 12 units with an approx. 1.100 m² of living area on top. As the building had been built in prefabricated reinforced concrete sections that could not take too much additional load the new penthouses were mainly constructed out of prefabricated solid timber elements. The special structural challenge lay in the alignment of the construction methods between the existing building and the new penthouses.

National Institute for Legislative Studies (NILS), Abuja, Nigeria

NILS_01

FACADE DETAIL DESIGN

2014 – 2015
Client: GIP GmbH, Braunschweig / Germany
Architect: Integrated Practice Consultants, Abudja
Photo: Olaf Sippel, GIP GmbH,
Braunschweig / Germany


In total the Nigerian National Institute for Legislative Studies is a 80,000 m² large campus which includes most different building types: a congress centre, a library, administration buildings and housing. Continue reading

Adaptive Building Systems

RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT

in cooperation with TU Delft 2006
Architect: Braun Associates Architekten, Stuttgart/ Deutschland
Photos: Braun Associates Architekten, Stuttgart/ Deutschland


In nature adaptive systems are very common, for example, one only has to think of the chameleon. In material sciences, too, current developments strive towards the invention of adaptive materials, so-called smart materials. They can vary their physical and chemical configurations and with regard to load bearing structures, such as high rise or bridges, they enable greater heights and spans.

Memorial Bergen-Belsen, Germany

BergenBelsen_01

CONCEPTUAL DESIGN TO TENDER DOCUMENTS

Bergen Belsen / Germany 2013 – 2015
Client: Stiftung niedersächsische Gedenkstätten,
Celle / Germany
Architect: leichtbaukunst, Lars Meeß-Olsohn,
Velbert / Germany
Photo: leichtbaukunst, Lars Meeß-Olsohn,
Velbert / Germany


With the help of a master plan the authorities attempted in 2006 to systematically categorize, label and secure the remains of the former Nazi camp in Bergen-Belsen. The aim has been to set up a “memorial of the age“ so that the visitors can decipher and discern what happened where. Continue reading

Cruise ship S697, Meyer Werft, Papenburg, Germany

MeyerWerft_01

CONCEPTUAL DESIGN TO DETAIL DESIGN

Papenburg / Germany 2013 – 2014
Owner: Meyer-Werft, Papenburg / Germany
Client: Textil Bau GmbH, Hamburg / Germany
Photo: Textil Bau GmbH, Hamburg / Germany


The white membranes on the upper decks of modern cruise ships conjure up impressions of the billowing sails of ancient sailing ships. Although neither functionally nor from a constructive point of view can one compare the membranes, which measure up to 25 m, with maritime nostalgia. Instead the membranes serve as solar and weather protection for passengers as well as the crew. Continue reading

IFIB – Interfakultäres Institut für Biochemie

FASSADENPLANUNG LP 3 – 5

Tübingen 2015 – 2020
Bauherr / Architekt: Vermögen und Bau
Baden-Württemberg Amt Tübingen, Tübingen
Wenzel+Wenzel, Stuttgart
Tragwerksplanung: Schweitzer Ingenieure,
Saarbrücken
Fotos: Martin Prösler, Tübingen


Neubau Interfakultäres Institut für Biochemie IFIB

Das IFIB ergänzt das 2013 fertiggestellte Zentrum für Molekularbiologie der Pflanzen (ZMBP) bei dem TEUFFEL ENGINEERING CONSULTANTS schon als Fassadenplaner für das drei- bis fünfgeschossige Gebäude zusammen mit den Architekten und der ausführenden Firma eine vorgehängte Stahlbetonfertigteilfassade entwickelten.

Mit dem IFIB entstand nun ein moderner Erweiterungsbau mit zeitgemäßer Ausstattung. Auf rund 5.300 Quadratmetern bietet er den Studierenden und Lehrenden Raum für ihre wissenschaftliche Arbeit. Es wurde viel Wert auf die Energieeffizienz gelegt. Das Lüftungssystem ist mit einer Wärmerückgewinnung ausgestattet. Den verbleibenden Wärmebedarf deckt das überwiegend mit Holzhackschnitzeln betriebene Fernheizwerk. Rückkühlwerke auf dem Dach tragen mit Verdunstungskühlung zur energieeffizienten Erzeugung der benötigten Kälte bei.

TEUFFEL ENGINEERING CONSULTANTS hat diese energieeffiziente Planung unterstützt, indem wiederum die Stahlbetonfertigteilfassade geplant wurde. Hierbei wurde ein Teil der ursprünglichen Fassade des ZMBP rückgebaut und die Fertigteile im Sinne einer Kreislaufwirtschaft für das IFIB wieder verwertet.

siehe auch: Neubau für das Interfakultäre Institut für Biochemie übergeben

Aldgate Statue

Aldgate-Statue

Architekten: Normal


Die Aldgate Statue ist die Einsendung des Teams „normal“ zu einem Wettbewerb, der ausgelobt wurde, um ein neues Wahrzeichen für die Stadt London zu schaffen. Die Absicht war es, ein Objekt zu schaffen, das sowohl am Tag als auch in der Nacht unvergesslich ist.

Für die Realisierung des Projekts wurde naturbelassenes Stroh als das geeignetste Material ausgewählt, um das Konzept auszudrücken. Der innere Kern besteht aus einem zentralen Stahlmasten, der in einem Betonfundament verankert ist und vorgefertigten Stahlstreben, die symmetrisch mit dem Masten verbunden ist, um die Balance der Struktur sicherzustellen und um dem Wahrzeichen das gewünschte Aussehen zu geben.

Samsung GALAXY Studio, Sotschi

OlympiaSamsung_02

TRAGWERKSPLANUNG LP 3 – 5

Sotschi / Russland 2013 – 2014
Bauherr: Samsung, Seoul / Südkorea
Architekt: Nüssli, Hüttwilen / Schweiz
Generalübernehmer: Nüssli, Hüttwilen / Schweiz
Foto: Nüssli, Hüttwilen / Schweiz


Die 40 m x 27 m x 9,50 m große Konstruktion bestand auf drei Seiten aus einem Stahlgerüst mit vier an den Ecken und zwei in der Mitte eingespanten Stützen. Diagonalverstrebungen sorgten für die erforderliche Steifigkeit unter Wind-, Schnee- und eventuellen Erdbebenlasten. Continue reading

Volkswagen Group Russland Pavillon, Sotschi

OlympiaVW_01

TRAGWERKSPLANUNG LP 3 – 5

Sotschi / Russland 2013 – 2014
Bauherr: Volkswagen Group Russland,
Moskau / Russland
Architekt: Avantgarde, München
Strauss Architekten, Stuttgart
Generalübernehmer: Nüssli, Hüttwilen / Schweiz
Foto: Nüssli, Volkswagen Group Russland


Das besondere des fünfstöckigen Pavillons der VW Gruppe war die über die Frontseite installierte 540 m² große LCD-Leinwand. Darauf wurde, u. a. mit Hilfe von Tänzern, der tägliche Medaillenspiegel dargestellt. Die Zwischenpodeste dieser Stahlskelettkonstruktion wurden für die Aufnahme der Tänzer als Ganzglaskonstruktion ausgeführt. Continue reading

Prora, Block 1, Insel Rügen

ProraBlock1_01

TRAGWERKSPLANUNG LP 4 – 8

Insel Rügen, Deutschland 2013 – 2016
Bauherr: Wohnen in Prora, Vermögensverwaltungs
GmbH & Co. KG, Berlin
Architekt: Stuke Architekten GmbH, Berlin
Foto: Wohnen in Prora Vermögensverwaltungs
GmbH & Co. KG, Berlin


Der konstruktive Eingriff in eine denkmalgeschützte Bausubstanz stellt auch für die Tragwerksplanung immer wieder eine besondere Herausforderung dar. Teilbereich „Block 1“ der ehemaligen KDF-Anlage aus dem Dritten Reich machte da keine Ausnahme bei der Umgestaltung des Bestands in moderne Ferienwohnungen und ein Hotel. Continue reading

Drakestraße, Berlin

DrakestrasseBerlin_02

TRAGWERKSPLANUNG LP 1 – 4

Berlin 2014 – 2015
Bauherr: BOTAG-Fonds 20 Drakestr. 76 / 77 GbR
Architekt: Stuke Architekten GmbH, Berlin
Foto: Stuke Architekten GmbH, Berlin


Das Flachdach der 1978 errichteten 6-geschossigen Wohnanlage in Berlin-Lichterfelde sollte thermisch saniert werden. Im Zuge der Sanierung plante man jedoch als neues Dachgeschoss die Errichtung von 12 zusätzlichen Wohneinheiten mit ca. 1.100 m² Wohnfläche. Da die Konstruktion des Bestandsgebäudes aus Stahlbetonfertigteilen in Schottenbauweise besteht, wurde die neue Dachkonstruktion in Holzbauweise aus überwiegend vorgefertigten Vollholzelementen realisiert. Die Abstimmung der unterschiedlichen Konstruktionsweisen hinsichtlich des tragenden Systems im Bestand, stellte die besondere Herausforderung in diesem Projekt dar.

National Institute for Legislative Studies (NILS), Abuja, Nigeria

NILS_01

FASSADENPLANUNG LP 5

2014 – 2015
Auftraggeber: GIP GmbH, Braunschweig
Architekt: Integrated Practice Consultants, Abudja
Foto: Olaf Sippel, GIP GmbH, Braunschweig


Das mehr als 80.000 m² große nigerianische Institut für Rechtswissenschaften wird als eine Campusanlage errichtet und beinhaltet unterschiedlichste Bautypologien: ein Kongresszentrum, eine Bibliohek, Verwaltungsbauten und Wohngebäude. Continue reading

Adaptive Bausysteme

FORSCHUNG UND ENTWICKLUNGSLEISTUNGEN

in Zusammenarbeit mit TU Delft 2006
Architekt (Evolo Tower): Braun Associates Architekten, Stuttgart/ Deutschland
Fotos: Braun Associates Architekten, Stuttgart/ Deutschland


Anpassungsfähige Systeme sind in der Natur – siehe Chamäleon – eine Selbstverständlichkeit. Aktuelle Entwicklungen in den Materialwissenschaften ermöglichen das Schaffen adaptiver Materialien, sogenannte smart materials. Sie variieren in ihren physikalischen und chemischen Eigenschaften und können z.B. bei einer Integration in tragende Strukturen, wie Hochhäuser oder Brücken, größere Höhen oder Spannweiten ermöglichen.

Gedenkstätte, Bergen-Belsen

BergenBelsen_01

TRAGWERKSPLANUNG LP 1 – 6

Bergen Belsen 2013 – 2015
Bauherr: Stiftung niedersächsische
Gedenkstätten, Celle
Architekt: leichtbaukunst,
Lars Meeß-Olsohn, Velbert
Foto: leichtbaukunst, Lars Meeß-Olsohn, Velbert


2006 wurde ein Masterplan für die systematische Erschließung, Kennzeichnung und Sicherung des ehemaligen Lagergeländes aus der NS-Zeit aufgestellt. Ziel ist, das Lager als „Denkmal aus der Zeit“ für Besucher so zu gestalten, dass es sicht- und lesbar wird. Continue reading

Kreuzfahrtschiff S697, Meyer Werft, Papenburg

MeyerWerft_01

LEISTUNGSPHASE LP 1 – 5

Papenburg 2013 – 2014
Bauherr: Meyer-Werft, Papenburg
Auftraggeber: Textil Bau GmbH, Hamburg
Foto: Textil Bau GmbH, Hamburg


Die weißen Membrane auf den Oberdecks moderner Kreuzfahrtschiffe wecken Assoziationen an die Segel der alten Windjammer. Jedoch weder Funktion noch Konstruktion, der teils bis zu 25 m langen Membrane, sind der Nostalgie geschuldet. Als Wind- und Sonnenschutz dienen sie den Passagieren wie auch der Besatzung. Continue reading