Audi IAA 2015, Frankfurt

STRUCTURAL FACADE DESIGN, CONCEPT TO DETAILED DESIGN

Munich 2016-2017
General contractor: Nüssli (Switzerland) Ltd


The AUDI exhibition space for the IAA consisted of a 55 x 70 m 3-storey hall with a completely dismountable steel structure. A mirrored façade of the entrance hall, floating car bodies as well as the foundation for the primary structure had to be assembled quickly and accurately. For the foundations following was required: After the end of the exhibition, all foundations had to be removed again. Therefore, ballasted foundations were used instead of the tensile anchorages in the foundation.

Further information

Cruise ship S697, Meyer Werft, Papenburg, Germany

MeyerWerft_01

CONCEPTUAL DESIGN TO DETAIL DESIGN

Papenburg / Germany 2013 – 2014
Owner: Meyer-Werft, Papenburg / Germany
Client: Textil Bau GmbH, Hamburg / Germany
Photo: Textil Bau GmbH, Hamburg / Germany


The white membranes on the upper decks of modern cruise ships conjure up impressions of the billowing sails of ancient sailing ships. Although neither functionally nor from a constructive point of view can one compare the membranes, which measure up to 25 m, with maritime nostalgia. Instead the membranes serve as solar and weather protection for passengers as well as the crew. Continue reading

Umbrellas, Potsdam, Germany

Trichterschirme_Potsdam_01

CONCEPTUAL DESIGN TO DETAIL DESIGN

Potsdam / Germany 2012
Owner: Brandenburgische Landesbetrieb für Liegenschaften
und Bauen, Potsdam / Germany
Client: Textil Bau GmbH, Hamburg / Germany
Foto: Textil Bau GmbH, Hamburg / Germany


Three membranes, shaped like open flower petals, have been erected in the inner courtyard of the Brandenburg Ministry of State in Potsdam with a span of six meters. Eight cantilevers, supported from the mast by steel wires, hang from each of the 6.20 m tall steel masts. The membrane itself consists of a PTFE-coated glass fibre fabric. Continue reading

Liechtenstein Expo 2010

Expo2010_01

CONCEPTUAL DESIGN TO TENDER DOCUMENTS

Vaduz / Liechtenstein 2010
Client: Fürstentum Liechtenstein, Vaduz / Liechtenstein
Architect: Sabine Kranz, Paris / France with Gaiser Architekten, Karlsruhe / Germany
General contractor: Nüssli, Hüttwilen / Switzerland
Photo: Nüssli, Hüttwilen / Switzerland


The small pavilion in Vaduz has aptly been described as a “sky full of 158 banners”. By video it transmits images and impressions from the EXPO 2010 in Shanghai. For this purpose the already existing information center has been encircled by an 11 m tall spaceframe of 14 m x 14 m. Continue reading

Beach club “Bries”

Beachclub_Bries_01

CONCEPTUAL DESIGN TO TENDER DOCUMENTS,
WORKSHOP DRAWINGS (STEEL),
MEMBRANE STRUCTURE

Noordwijk / Netherlands 2009
Client: Bries, Noordwijk / Netherlands
Architect: Studio Akkerhuis Paris / Frankreich
with Philipp Molter, Munich / Germany
Photo: nilles graphic design Noordwijk aan Zee /
Netherlands


Every year during the summer months at the beach of Noordwijk a temporary culinary pavilion is being built. The steel, timber and membrane construction provides protection against the sun, wind and rain but at the same time opens up the uncluttered view of the sea. Continue reading

Multipurpose hall “Giertsen”

MehrzweckhalleGiertsen_01

ALL PHASES, WORKING DRAWINGS (STEEL),
MEMBRANE GENERAL PLANNER

Bergen / Norway 2008 – 2011
Client: W. Giertsen HallSystem AS, Bergen / Norway
Architect: Holzbach Architekten, Koblenz / Germany
Photo: Holzbach Architekten, Koblenz / Germany


The underlying structural concept for this textile multipurpose hall is the use of a double-layer membrane which stretches across two mirrored curvilinear girders. In this instance the membrane combines more than one purpose: Load bearing with the help of the outer membrane, thermal insulation by the use of glass wool, maximum daylight penetration, a high degree of pre-fabrication and a fast assembly. Continue reading

Industrial sheds Dublin bay

IndustriehallenDublin_01

CONCEPTUAL DESIGN TO TENDER DOCUMENTS, CUTTING PATTERNS

Dublin / Irland 2008
Client: Powerplastics, Thirsk / UK
Photo: Powerplastics, Thirsk / UK


In former times metal shed roofs uniformly covered all kinds of industrial buildings. Nowadays membrane roofs can reach this goal quicker and more economically. In this instance the benefit is not only one of cost and time but an aesthetic one as well. Continue reading

Architonic exhibition stand imm 2008

Architonic_imm2008_01

CONCEPTUAL DESIGN TO DETAIL DESIGN

Cologne / Germany 2008
Client: Architonic
Architect: LAVA, Stuttgart, Sydney / Australien
Photo: geeLy, Zurich / Switzerland


The simple and lean elegance in combination with a quick and easy construction method is entirely due to the choice of material. Here aesthetic quality interacts almost effortlessly with efficiency. Continue reading

Glass Cube

CONCEPTUAL DESIGN TO TENDER DOCUMENTS

Düsseldorf / Stuttgart / Munich / London 1996 – 1999
Architect: Stefan Gose, Stuttgart / Germany
Photo: Jens Willebrand, Cologne / Germany


Tensegrity stands for tension and integrity, totality and cohesion in an experimental sculpture. Patrick Teuffel designed the world’s first structure of load bearing glass tubes. This configuration of apparent weightlessness became his first independent project.

Audi IAA 2015, Frankfurt

FASSADENTRAGWERKSPLANUNG LP 4 – 5

Frankfurt 2015
Generalunternehmer: Nüssli (Switzerland) Ltd


Der Audi-Messepavillon für die IAA bestand aus einer 55 x 70 m großen 3-geschossigen Halle mit einer komplett demontierbaren Stahlkonstruktion. Eine verspiegelte Eingangshalle, schwebende Karosserien sowie die Gründung für das Hallentragwerk mussten schnell und passgenau zu montieren sein. Für die Gründung galt: Nach Ende der Ausstellung mussten alle Fundamentkörper wieder entfernt werden, darum kamen statt erforderlicher Zugverankerungen im Baugrund ballastierte Fundamente zum Einsatz.

Weitere Informationen

Kreuzfahrtschiff S697, Meyer Werft, Papenburg

MeyerWerft_01

LEISTUNGSPHASE LP 1 – 5

Papenburg 2013 – 2014
Bauherr: Meyer-Werft, Papenburg
Auftraggeber: Textil Bau GmbH, Hamburg
Foto: Textil Bau GmbH, Hamburg


Die weißen Membrane auf den Oberdecks moderner Kreuzfahrtschiffe wecken Assoziationen an die Segel der alten Windjammer. Jedoch weder Funktion noch Konstruktion, der teils bis zu 25 m langen Membrane, sind der Nostalgie geschuldet. Als Wind- und Sonnenschutz dienen sie den Passagieren wie auch der Besatzung. Continue reading

Trichterschirme, Potsdam

Trichterschirme_Potsdam_01

TRAGWERKSPLANUNG LP 1 – 5

Potsdam 2012
Bauherr: Brandenburgische Landesbetrieb für
Liegenschaften und Bauen, Potsdam
Auftraggeber: Textil Bau GmbH, Hamburg
Foto: Textil Bau GmbH, Hamburg


Im Innenhof der Brandenburgischen Staatskanzlei sind als Wetter- und Sonnenschutz drei Trichterschirme mit einem Durchmesser von 6 m errichtet worden. An jeder der 6,20 m hohen Stahlstützen kragen an einem Klemmflansch jeweils acht Kragarme als Druckstreben aus, die über Stahlseile zur Mittelstütze abgespannt werden. Continue reading

Liechtenstein Expo 2010

Expo2010_01

TRAGWERKSPLANUNG LP 1 – 6

Vaduz / Liechtenstein 2010
Bauherr: Fürstentum Liechtenstein, Vaduz / Liechtenstein
Architekt: Sabine Kranz, Paris / Frankreich mit Gaiser Architekten, Karlsruhe
Generalübernehmer: Nüssli, Hüttwilen / Schweiz
Fotos: Nüssli, Hüttwilen / Schweiz


Ein „Fahnenhimmel aus 158 Fahnen“, so wird der Pavillon Vaduz beschrieben, der am Fuße des Burgbergs die Liechtensteiner per Video über die EXPO 2010 in Shanghai informiert. Dafür wurde das bestehende Informationszentrum von einem Spaceframe (14 m x 14 m) mit einer Höhe von 11 m umrahmt. Continue reading

Beachclub „Bries“

Beachclub_Bries_01

TRAGWERKSPLANUNG LP 1 – 6
SOWIE WERKPLANUNG STAHL- UND
MEMBRANBAU

Noordwijk / Niederlande 2009
Bauherr: Bries, Noordwijk / Niederlande
Architekt: Studio Akkerhuis Paris / Frankreich
mit Philipp Molter, München
Fotos: nilles graphic design Noordwijk aan Zee / Niederlande


Am Strand von Noordwijk wird alljährlich während der Sommermonate ein temporärer, kulinarischer Pavillon errichtet. Der Stahl-, Holz- und Membranbau bietet Schutz vor Sonne, Regen und Wind, eröffnet jedoch gleichzeitig den freien Blick auf das Meer. Continue reading

Mehrzweckhalle Giertsen

MehrzweckhalleGiertsen_01

GENERAL- UND
TRAGWERKSPLANUNG LP 1 – 4

Bergen / Norwegen 2008 – 2011
Auftraggeber: W. Giertsen HallSystem AS, Bergen / Norwegen
Architekt: Holzbach Architekten, Koblenz
Foto: Holzbach Architekten, Koblenz


Das Konzept für die textile Mehrzweckhalle besteht aus einer mehrlagigen Membran, die über zwei gegeneinander gespiegelten bogenartigen Fachwerkträger gespannt ist. Die Membran kombiniert viele Eigenschaften miteinander: Lastabtragung über die äußere Membran, Wärmedämmung durch den Einsatz von Glaswolle, maximale Tageslichttransmission, hoher Grad der Vorfertigung und schneller Aufbau. Continue reading

Industriehallen Dublin Bay

IndustriehallenDublin_01

TRAGWERKSPLANUNG LP 1-6
SOWIE ZUSCHNITTSERMITTLUNG

Dublin / Irland 2008
Auftraggeber: Powerplastics, Thirsk /
Großbritannien
Foto: Powerplastics, Thirsk / Großbritannien


Was früher im Industriebau die Sheddächer leisteten, kann heute mit Hilfe von Membranen schneller und wirtschaftlicher erreicht werden. Der Gewinn dabei ist neben Kosten und Zeit manchmal auch durchaus ein ästhetischer. Die Leistungsfähigkeit solcher Strukturen beruht zum einen, auf der Festigkeit der verwendeten Materialien, aber auch auf der durch Optimierung und Formfindung entwickelten Geometrie.

Architonic Messestand imm 2008

Architonic_imm2008_01

TRAGWERKSPLANUNG LP 1 – 5

Köln 2008
Bauherr: Architonic
Architekt: LAVA, Stuttgart, Sydney / Australien
Foto: geeLy, Zürich / Schweiz


Die schlichte, schlanke Eleganz des Messestands und die schnelle Auf- und Abbauzeit ist der Materialwahl geschuldet. Ästhetische Qualität und Wirtschaftlichkeit greifen hier nahtlos ineinander. Continue reading

Glass Cube

TRAGWERKSPLANUNG LP 1 – 6

Düsseldorf / Stuttgart / München / London 1996 – 1999
Architekt: Stefan Gose, Stuttgart
Foto: Jens Willebrand, Köln


Spannung und Integrität, Ganzheit und Zusammenhalt in einer experimentellen Skulptur. Patrick Teuffel entwarf diese weltweit erstmalige Verwendung von Glasrohren als tragende Bauteile. Diese Konstruktion der Schwerelosigkeit ist das erste eigenständige Projekt.