Rheinstraßenbrücke Darmstadt

STRUCTURAL COMPETITION

Darmstadt/ Germany, 2015
Architect: AL_A, London


The aim of the design is to preserve the historic structure of the bridge as far as possible, while at the same time providing the city of Darmstadt with a new and decisive contribution to the improvement of the infrastructure. The careful handling of the existing historic building fabric, in particular the artistically ornamented bridge heads and the retaining walls from the year 1912, it is aimed at preserving a connection to the past and the basis for the step into the future.

Tempelhofer Freiheit Südbrücke

STRUCTURAL DESIGN COMPETITION

Berlin, 2012
Architect: ipv, Delft/ NL


The bridge structure provides space for an integrated train station access with an integrated lift and access stairs. The continuous appearance of the Vierendeel truss provides opportunities for the illumination of graphical information at both sides of the bridge. This space can also serve as an exhibition space for art or historical information about the Tempelhof Airport and in the evening it can be illuminated by the upper part of the girder.

Weave Bridge

WeaveBridge_01

SCHEMATIC DESIGN TO DETAIL DESIGN

Philadelphia / USA 2006 – 2009
Architect: Cecil Balmond, ARUP
Advanced Geometry Unit, London / UK
Photo: Greg Benson, Philadelphia / USA


The bridge was designed by the Arup engineer Cecil Balmond. TEUFFEL ENGINEERING CONSULTANTS worked on the design as a partner of the Advanced Geometry Unit (AGU) at the Arup offices in London. Two contrary spirals form a structure with extraordinary spatial qualities. Continue reading

Rheinstraßenbrücke Darmstadt

TRAGWERKSPLANUNG WETTBEWERB

Darmstadt, 2015
Architekt: AL_A, London


Ziel des Entwurfes ist, den historischen Bestand der Brücke soweit wie möglich zu erhalten und dabei gleichzeitig die Stadt Darmstadt mit einem neuen und entscheidenden Beitrag zur Verbesserung der Infrastruktur zu versorgen. Der behutsame Umgang mit der vorhandenen historischen Bausubstanz, insbesondere die kunstvoll ornamentierten Brückenköpfe und Lavatuff Stützenwände aus dem Jahre 1912, ist angestrebt um eine Verbindung zur Vergangenheit zu erhalten und die Basis für den Schritt in die Zukunft zu vollziehen.

Tempelhofer Freiheit Südbrücke

TRAGWERKSPLANUNG WETTBEWERB

Berlin, 2012
Architekt: ipv, Delft/ NL


Die Brückenkonstruktion bietet Raum für einen integrierten S-Bahnhofzugang mit integriertem Lift und Zugangstreppe. Die an beiden Seiten weiter durchgezogene Linienführung des Vierendeelträgers lässt an den äußeren Enden beleuchtete Nischen entstehen für vielfältige grafische Information. Dieser Raum kann auch als Ausstellungsfläche für Kunst oder für historische Informationen zum Flughafen Tempelhof dienen und abends vom oberen Teil des Trägers beleuchtet werden.

Weave Bridge

WeaveBridge_01

TRAGWERKSPLANUNG LP 3 – 5

Philadelphia / USA 2006 – 2009
Architekt: Cecil Balmond, ARUP
Advanced Geometry Unit, London / Großbritannien
Foto: Greg Benson, Philadelphia / USA


Entworfen von dem Arup Ingenieur Cecil Balmond und bearbeitet von TEUFFEL ENGINEERING CONSULTANTS als Ausführungspartner der Advanced Geometry Unit (AGU) von Arup London, bilden die gegenläufige Spiralen ein Tragwerk mit außergewöhnlichen räumlichen Qualitäten. Continue reading