Kindl Brewery – Centre for Contemporary Art

STRUCTURAL FACADE DESIGN, CONCEPT TO DETAILED DESIGN

Berlin 2016 – 2017
Architect: grisard´architektur, Zurich
Photo: Stefan Melchior


The Kindl brewery in Berlin-Neukölln, which has been closed down for many years, has been re-designed and built as a centre for contemporary art. The supporting structure for the façade of the wind screen consists of rectangular multi-chamber hollow profiles. The system used here is Schüco Steel-Jansen VISS. In the area of the staircase a frameless glazing with point-fixings according to Fischer Zykon system with a general approval by the building authorities has been applied.

Umbrellas, Potsdam, Germany

Trichterschirme_Potsdam_01

CONCEPTUAL DESIGN TO DETAIL DESIGN

Potsdam / Germany 2012
Owner: Brandenburgische Landesbetrieb für Liegenschaften
und Bauen, Potsdam / Germany
Client: Textil Bau GmbH, Hamburg / Germany
Foto: Textil Bau GmbH, Hamburg / Germany


Three membranes, shaped like open flower petals, have been erected in the inner courtyard of the Brandenburg Ministry of State in Potsdam with a span of six meters. Eight cantilevers, supported from the mast by steel wires, hang from each of the 6.20 m tall steel masts. The membrane itself consists of a PTFE-coated glass fibre fabric. Continue reading

Smart Materials

RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT

in cooperation with TU Delft 2010
Architect (IBA): Architectuurcentrale Thijs Asselbergs, Haarlem/ Niederlande and SHAU, Rotterdam/ Niederlande
Photo: TU Delft


The Experimental House IN4M is positioned at the crossroads of sociological and technical innovation by the use of new and high tech materials and planning methodologies. In combination with ecological timber products and recycled products from straw different types of materials have been integrated into this House of the Future. The Smart Energy Glass, for instance, is based on a liquid crystal technology and can be switched to different degrees of transparency. The energy for this is generated by the glass itself and the light transmission ranges from transparent to opaque and translucent – different g-value included.

Multipurpose hall “Giertsen”

MehrzweckhalleGiertsen_01

ALL PHASES, WORKING DRAWINGS (STEEL),
MEMBRANE GENERAL PLANNER

Bergen / Norway 2008 – 2011
Client: W. Giertsen HallSystem AS, Bergen / Norway
Architect: Holzbach Architekten, Koblenz / Germany
Photo: Holzbach Architekten, Koblenz / Germany


The underlying structural concept for this textile multipurpose hall is the use of a double-layer membrane which stretches across two mirrored curvilinear girders. In this instance the membrane combines more than one purpose: Load bearing with the help of the outer membrane, thermal insulation by the use of glass wool, maximum daylight penetration, a high degree of pre-fabrication and a fast assembly. Continue reading

Glass Cube

CONCEPTUAL DESIGN TO TENDER DOCUMENTS

Düsseldorf / Stuttgart / Munich / London 1996 – 1999
Architect: Stefan Gose, Stuttgart / Germany
Photo: Jens Willebrand, Cologne / Germany


Tensegrity stands for tension and integrity, totality and cohesion in an experimental sculpture. Patrick Teuffel designed the world’s first structure of load bearing glass tubes. This configuration of apparent weightlessness became his first independent project.

Kindl Brauerei – Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst, Berlin

FASSADENTRAGWERKSPLANUNG LP 3 – 5

Berlin 2016 – 2017
Architect: grisard’architektur, Zürich


Die seit vielen Jahren stillgelegte Kindl-Brauerei in Berlin-Neukölln wurde zum Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst umgeplant und gebaut. Das Tragwerk für den Windfang der Pfosten-Riegel-Fassade besteht aus rechteckigen Mehrkammer-Hohlprofilen. Bei dem dabei verwendeten System handelt es sich um Schüco Stahlsysteme–Jansen VISS. Im Bereich des Treppenhauses Ost kommt eine punktgehaltene, rahmenlose Verglasung gemäß System Fischer Zykon mit allgemeiner bauaufsichtlicher Zulassung zum Einsatz.

Trichterschirme, Potsdam

Trichterschirme_Potsdam_01

TRAGWERKSPLANUNG LP 1 – 5

Potsdam 2012
Bauherr: Brandenburgische Landesbetrieb für
Liegenschaften und Bauen, Potsdam
Auftraggeber: Textil Bau GmbH, Hamburg
Foto: Textil Bau GmbH, Hamburg


Im Innenhof der Brandenburgischen Staatskanzlei sind als Wetter- und Sonnenschutz drei Trichterschirme mit einem Durchmesser von 6 m errichtet worden. An jeder der 6,20 m hohen Stahlstützen kragen an einem Klemmflansch jeweils acht Kragarme als Druckstreben aus, die über Stahlseile zur Mittelstütze abgespannt werden. Continue reading

Smart Materials

FORSCHUNG UND ENTWICKLUNGSLEISTUNGEN

in Zusammenarbeit mit TU Delft 2010
Architekt (IBA): Architectuurcentrale Thijs Asselbergs, Haarlem / Niederlande mit SHAU, Rotterdam / Niederlande
Foto: TU Delft


Die Schnittstelle zu soziologischen und technischen Aspekten wurde bei dem Experimental Haus IN4M an Hand von neuartigen Wohntypologien und nachhaltigem Bauen im Grünen mittels neuer Materialien und Planungsmethoden definiert. In Kombination von ökologischen Holzwerkstoffen und nachhaltigen Produkten aus Stroh kommen auch neue Materialien zum Einsatz z.B. das Smart Energy Glass. Basierend auf Flüssigkristalltechnologie, ermöglicht es eine schaltbare Transparenz – die Energie dafür wird vom Glas selbst gewonnen .Es ist schaltbar zwischen transparent, opak bis hin zu transluzent und erreicht somit auch unterschiedliche G-Werte.

Mehrzweckhalle Giertsen

MehrzweckhalleGiertsen_01

GENERAL- UND
TRAGWERKSPLANUNG LP 1 – 4

Bergen / Norwegen 2008 – 2011
Auftraggeber: W. Giertsen HallSystem AS, Bergen / Norwegen
Architekt: Holzbach Architekten, Koblenz
Foto: Holzbach Architekten, Koblenz


Das Konzept für die textile Mehrzweckhalle besteht aus einer mehrlagigen Membran, die über zwei gegeneinander gespiegelten bogenartigen Fachwerkträger gespannt ist. Die Membran kombiniert viele Eigenschaften miteinander: Lastabtragung über die äußere Membran, Wärmedämmung durch den Einsatz von Glaswolle, maximale Tageslichttransmission, hoher Grad der Vorfertigung und schneller Aufbau. Continue reading

Glass Cube

TRAGWERKSPLANUNG LP 1 – 6

Düsseldorf / Stuttgart / München / London 1996 – 1999
Architekt: Stefan Gose, Stuttgart
Foto: Jens Willebrand, Köln


Spannung und Integrität, Ganzheit und Zusammenhalt in einer experimentellen Skulptur. Patrick Teuffel entwarf diese weltweit erstmalige Verwendung von Glasrohren als tragende Bauteile. Diese Konstruktion der Schwerelosigkeit ist das erste eigenständige Projekt.