Bauhaus museum, Dessau

STRUCTURAL DESIGN COMPETITION

(1st prize)
Dessau 2015
Architect: Young & Ayata, New York/em>


The new Bauhaus Museum Dessau will for the first time offer the opportunity to present the outstanding collection of the Bauhaus Dessau Foundation to the public on a permanent basis under the best possible conservative conditions. The primary structure of the individual exhibition halls is made of composite timber ribs. Each rib can be cut from a flat timber panel using modern CNC technology.

Wind Simulation

Windsimulation

RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT

worldwide since 2010
Client: Solar energy companies
Photo: TEC


Already during the engineer’s design phase a special CFD (Computational Fluid Dynamics) software provides the numeric simulation of wind forces on buildings and other forms of structures. Particularly in connection with the design of free-standing photovoltaic plants wind simulations are of the highest importance. Various alternatives in the design can easily be modelled, analysed and evaluated very quickly.

Memorial Bergen-Belsen, Germany

BergenBelsen_01

CONCEPTUAL DESIGN TO TENDER DOCUMENTS

Bergen Belsen / Germany 2013 – 2015
Client: Stiftung niedersächsische Gedenkstätten,
Celle / Germany
Architect: leichtbaukunst, Lars Meeß-Olsohn,
Velbert / Germany
Photo: leichtbaukunst, Lars Meeß-Olsohn,
Velbert / Germany


With the help of a master plan the authorities attempted in 2006 to systematically categorize, label and secure the remains of the former Nazi camp in Bergen-Belsen. The aim has been to set up a “memorial of the age“ so that the visitors can decipher and discern what happened where. Continue reading

Multipurpose hall “Giertsen”

MehrzweckhalleGiertsen_01

ALL PHASES, WORKING DRAWINGS (STEEL),
MEMBRANE GENERAL PLANNER

Bergen / Norway 2008 – 2011
Client: W. Giertsen HallSystem AS, Bergen / Norway
Architect: Holzbach Architekten, Koblenz / Germany
Photo: Holzbach Architekten, Koblenz / Germany


The underlying structural concept for this textile multipurpose hall is the use of a double-layer membrane which stretches across two mirrored curvilinear girders. In this instance the membrane combines more than one purpose: Load bearing with the help of the outer membrane, thermal insulation by the use of glass wool, maximum daylight penetration, a high degree of pre-fabrication and a fast assembly. Continue reading

Architonic exhibition stand imm 2008

Architonic_imm2008_01

CONCEPTUAL DESIGN TO DETAIL DESIGN

Cologne / Germany 2008
Client: Architonic
Architect: LAVA, Stuttgart, Sydney / Australien
Photo: geeLy, Zurich / Switzerland


The simple and lean elegance in combination with a quick and easy construction method is entirely due to the choice of material. Here aesthetic quality interacts almost effortlessly with efficiency. Continue reading

Bauhaus Museum, Dessau

TRAGWERKSPLANUNG WETTBEWERB

(1. Preis)
Dessau 2015
Architect: Young & Ayata, New York


Das geplante Bauhaus Museum Dessau wird erstmalig die Chance bieten, die herausragende Sammlung der Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau dauerhaft und unter bestmöglichen konservatorischen Bedingungen der Öffentlichkeit zu präsentieren. Die Tragstruktur der einzelnen Ausstellungshallen wird aus Verbundholzrippen gebildet. Jede Rippe kann mit Hilfe von moderner CNC- Technologie aus einer ebenen Holzplatte geschnitten werden.

Windsimulation

Windsimulation

FORSCHUNG UND ENTWICKLUNGSLEISTUNGEN

weltweit seit 2010
Auftraggeber: verschiedene Unternehmen aus der Solarbranche
Foto: TEC


Spezielle CFD (Computational Fluid Dynamics) Software ermöglicht schon während der Entwurfsphase die numerische Simulation der Windkräfte auf Gebäude und andere Konstruktionen. Insbesondere in Verbindung mit der Planung von freistehenden Photovoltaikanlagen kommt der Windsimulation eine systemrelevante Bedeutung zu. Verschiedenste Entwurfsvarianten können auf diese Weise schnell modelliert, analysiert und bewertet werden.

Gedenkstätte, Bergen-Belsen

BergenBelsen_01

TRAGWERKSPLANUNG LP 1 – 6

Bergen Belsen 2013 – 2015
Bauherr: Stiftung niedersächsische
Gedenkstätten, Celle
Architekt: leichtbaukunst,
Lars Meeß-Olsohn, Velbert
Foto: leichtbaukunst, Lars Meeß-Olsohn, Velbert


2006 wurde ein Masterplan für die systematische Erschließung, Kennzeichnung und Sicherung des ehemaligen Lagergeländes aus der NS-Zeit aufgestellt. Ziel ist, das Lager als „Denkmal aus der Zeit“ für Besucher so zu gestalten, dass es sicht- und lesbar wird. Continue reading

Mehrzweckhalle Giertsen

MehrzweckhalleGiertsen_01

GENERAL- UND
TRAGWERKSPLANUNG LP 1 – 4

Bergen / Norwegen 2008 – 2011
Auftraggeber: W. Giertsen HallSystem AS, Bergen / Norwegen
Architekt: Holzbach Architekten, Koblenz
Foto: Holzbach Architekten, Koblenz


Das Konzept für die textile Mehrzweckhalle besteht aus einer mehrlagigen Membran, die über zwei gegeneinander gespiegelten bogenartigen Fachwerkträger gespannt ist. Die Membran kombiniert viele Eigenschaften miteinander: Lastabtragung über die äußere Membran, Wärmedämmung durch den Einsatz von Glaswolle, maximale Tageslichttransmission, hoher Grad der Vorfertigung und schneller Aufbau. Continue reading

Architonic Messestand imm 2008

Architonic_imm2008_01

TRAGWERKSPLANUNG LP 1 – 5

Köln 2008
Bauherr: Architonic
Architekt: LAVA, Stuttgart, Sydney / Australien
Foto: geeLy, Zürich / Schweiz


Die schlichte, schlanke Eleganz des Messestands und die schnelle Auf- und Abbauzeit ist der Materialwahl geschuldet. Ästhetische Qualität und Wirtschaftlichkeit greifen hier nahtlos ineinander. Continue reading